Many circumstances can impact the validity of a Washington driver's license, outstanding fees, reckless driving, etc. This begs the question: how does a driving while under the influence (DUI) conviction impact a license?
DUIs & Licenses
A driver's license is a privilege, not a right. This means a license can be taken away from a driver if they fail to follow the rules. One of the rules is staying sober while behind the wheel.
If a Washington driver is convicted for a first-time operating a vehicle while under the influence charge, he can expect the following punishments:
- Minimum of 24 consecutive hours in jail, a maximum of less than a year in jail; or
- 15 days of electronic home monitoring; or
- Three months of 24/7 sobriety program monitoring; and
- Minimum $990.50 fine, maximum of $5,000 (if the accused is not poor); and
- 90-day driver's license suspension.
As you can see, a first-time DUI conviction can result in a 90-day driver's license suspension. However, if the person's blood alcohol content (BAC) was at least 0.15% during his first-time DUI conviction, he will lose his license for a year or until he completes 120 days of 24/7 sobriety program monitoring.
Are You Facing a DUI Charge?
If you or a loved one is facing a DUI charge, you have the right to defend your case. A Snohomish DUI attorney can help you fight for your rights and assist you in fighting to maintain your license. You don't have to plead guilty; help is just a phone call away!
Call (888) 252-1961 now for a free consultation with attorney Mark Garka.