Washington State University may be the first to develop a breathalyzer that detects marijuana use. Under Washington law, drivers with 5 nanograms of active tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the chemical found in cannabis, in their bloodstream can be prosecuted for driving under the influence (DUI).
Currently, the university requires volunteers who are at least 21 years of age or older. They will begin with a blood test and a mouth swab as part of the preliminary testing. Then they will purchase marijuana of their choice from a state-licensed retail store and smoke it privately at home.
Taxis will pick up the volunteers from their homes and bring them to a hospital to complete secondary testing. This step will prevent any volunteer from driving under the influence. Additionally, the study will encourage participants to participate in a standard sobriety test conducted by local law enforcement.
The volunteers will be paid $30 an hour for the first hour and $10 for every additional hour of participation.
If successful, the findings of this study may later be used by law enforcement to help detect and prosecute individuals who may be under the influence of marijuana. Unlike alcohol, there is no easy way to identify whether or not someone has been driving with THC in their system.
DUI convictions can lead to severe sentences. If you've been accused of driving under the influence, make sure you're represented by an experienced Mill Creek DUI attorney. At the Law Office of Mark W. Garka, PLLC, our attorney has more than 15 years of legal experience aggressively defending DUI cases. Contact us at 888.252.1961 or fill out our online form to schedule a free initial phone conversation. We have reasonable and guaranteed fees, so you won't be surprised by hidden costs. Let us see what we can do for you.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment