Reputable DUI Defense Entrust your future to a well respected Attorney: Mark W. Garka.

DUI Sentencing Guidelines in WA

Snohomish County DUI Defense Attorney

With a DUI conviction, you may be facing certain mandatory sentencing guidelines as determined by Washington State law. Your sentence will depend on the circumstances of your arrest. These can include your level of intoxication, any prior DUI arrests on your record, your cooperation during your arrest, whether anyone was hurt or killed, and any other aggravating factors.

Penalties for a first DUI offense include:

  • Up to a year in jail
  • Maximum of $5,000 fine
  • Mandatory minimum of 1 days in jail or 15 days at-home electronic monitoring
  • Driver's license suspension for 90 days minimum
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device if you wish to continue driving

Keep in mind that penalties are much more severe for individuals whose BAC tested above 0.15. Repeat DUI offenders also face harsher penalties, including longer minimum jail time, required rehab treatment, and tougher terms if they wish to reinstate their driver's license.

Sentencing for Underage DUI in Washington

If your child has been charged with underage DUI, he or she may also face life-changing consequences. Due to his or her age, your child may be put on probation for at least one year. During the probation period, it is essential that your child is not arrested for any other crimes, that he or she enroll in an alcohol treatment program, and that he or she serve a community service.

FREE Consultations with a Former Prosecutor - (888) 252-1961

As your DUI lawyer in Washington State, I can advise you on your strongest course of action. The courts will not be lenient, so it is important to have competent legal representation by your side.

Contact the Law Office of Mark W. Garka, PLLC today.
Our free consultations can help you better understand your case.

Entrust Your Case to My Firm: