Penalties for Washington Underage Marijuana Possession

Maximum Penalties for Underage Marijuana Possession

The state of Washington approved the recreational use of Marijuana on December 6th, 2012. Since that time, hundreds of marijuana shops have grown throughout the state. Despite the buzz of recreational marijuana, there are still strict usage guidelines: including a legal age limit. Therefore, those who possess marijuana while underage are subject to penalties.

If someone under the age of twenty-one is in possession of forty grams or less of marijuana, he or she will be charged with a misdemeanor.

Maximum penalties for a Washington misdemeanor include:

  • Up to 90 days in county jail; and/or
  • Fine of up to $1,000.

Therefore, anyone under the age of twenty one could face jail time for marijuana possession. This is why it’s crucial to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney who can fight for your case.

Click here to learn more if you have been charged with a DUI while under the influence of marijuana in the State of Washington.

Underage Distribution of Marijuana

If a person attempts to sell or distribute marijuana to someone under the age of eighteen, he or she will face severe consequences.

The sale or delivery of marijuana to someone under the age of eighteen will be guilty of a class C felony, and the maximum penalties are the following:

  • Confinement in state correctional institution for five years; and/or
  • A fine of $10,000.

As you can see, the distribution and sale of marijuana to an underage person is much more severe than the underage possession.

Fighting for Your Underage Marijuana Possession Case

If your son or daughter is charged with the possession or sale of marijuana, hiring a criminal defense attorney should be your next step. If you have Mark Garka on your side, he can lower the penalties of a successful conviction, or fight for a not-guilty verdict.

Contact our firm for a free consultation for your marijuana case!

Categories: