DUI Sentencing Guidelines in WA
Snohomish County DUI Defense Attorney
With a DUI conviction, you may be facing certain mandatory sentencing guidelines
as determined by Washington State law. Your sentence will depend on the
circumstances of your arrest. These can include your level of intoxication,
any prior DUI arrests on your record, your cooperation during your arrest,
whether anyone was hurt or killed, and any other aggravating factors.
Penalties for a first DUI offense include:
- Up to a year in jail
- Maximum of $5,000 fine
- Mandatory minimum of 1 days in jail or 15 days at-home electronic monitoring
- Driver's license suspension for 90 days minimum
- Installation of an ignition interlock device if you wish to continue driving
Keep in mind that penalties are much more severe for individuals whose
BAC tested above 0.15. Repeat DUI offenders also face harsher penalties,
including longer minimum jail time, required rehab treatment, and tougher
terms if they wish to reinstate their driver's license.
Sentencing for Underage DUI in Washington
If your child has been charged with underage DUI, he or she may also face
life-changing consequences. Due to his or her age, your child may be put
on probation for at least one year. During the probation period, it is
essential that your child is not arrested for any other crimes, that he
or she enroll in an alcohol treatment program, and that he or she serve
a community service.
FREE Consultations with a Former Prosecutor - (888) 252-1961
DUI lawyer in Washington State, I can advise you on your strongest course of action.
The courts will not be lenient, so it is important to have competent legal
representation by your side.
Contact the Law Office of Mark W. Garka, PLLC at (888) 252-1961 today. Our
free consultations can help you better understand your case.