Washington Department of Licensing & DUI
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Here are some answers to the many questions I'm asked about DUI Laws and
procedures in Washington State. The categories of questions are as follows:
Washington State Drunk Driving Department of Licensing - FAQs:
- What is a Department of Licensing Hearing?
- How do I get my license back?
- What is SR-22 insurance?
- What is ADIS?
- What is the victim's impact panel?
- What is ignition interlock and how much does it
- I am not an alcoholic, will I still have to do
- I am an alcoholic, how much treatment will I have to
- What about a deferred prosecution?
What is a Department of Licensing Hearing?
You essentially have a contract with the State of Washington that says
you will not get a DUI, and if you do, you will lose your driver's license.
The DOL hearing is a civil hearing to consider if you have broken the rules
of the contract.
Consequences: For the first administrative action, an adult will
have their license suspended for 90 days. A minor with an alcohol
concentration of 0.02 or greater will have their license suspended for 90
An adult or minor who refuses to give a sample of blood or breath will
have a one year license revocation.
For a second or subsequent administrative action, an adult will have
their license revoked for two years. A minor with an alcohol concentration
of 0.02 or greater will have their license revoked for two years or until
the age of twenty-one, whichever is longer.
For a second or subsequent administrative action, an adult who refuses to
give a sample of their blood or breath will have a two year revocation. A
minor who refuses to give a sample of blood or breath will have their
license revoked for two years or until the age of twenty-one, whichever is
Also see the official WA DOL hearing site.
WON the DOL hearing! Mr. Garka set realistic expectations and nailed my DOL hearing! I am extremely satisfied with the results Mark and staff attained. He focused on key details surrounding my case and kept overall strategy for the "BIG Win" at the forefront at all times, should we be going to court with the state. I was pleasantly surprised at the professionalism and service Mark employed. His attention to detail and strategic thinking is no doubt how we won our DOL case (Huge hurdle!!). Now I can go about my life without the MANY challenges of losing my driving privileges. I have no doubt Mr. Garka will come through in the state hearing and nail it as well. Couldn't be happier, THANK YOU!
Posted by a DUI Client
How do I get my license back?
In order to reinstate a suspended license, you must file and maintain
proof of financial responsibility, SR-22 insurance, and pay a reissue fee
with the DOL.
If your license was revoked, you must file and maintain proof of
financial responsibility, SR-22 insurance, present written verification by a
company doing business in this state that it has installed an Ignition
Interlock Device (IID), pay a reissue fee with the DOL, and satisfactorily
complete a driver's ability test.
What is SR-22 insurance?
SR-22 insurance is required if you lose your driver's license.
Essentially the State requires you to prove financial responsibility. SR-22
insurance is an additional layer of insurance. For more information, contact http://vernfonk.com/asp/faq.asp#SR22
What is ADIS?
ADIS is shorthand for Alcohol Drug Information School. This 8-hour
class may be a condition from the court, but it is something that I
recommend all of my clients complete as soon as possible.
What is the victim's impact panel?
The Victim's Impact Panel (VIP) is an one hour and a half long course that may be a condition by the court; however, I strongly recommend you attend the panel. You can find the dates and location for the panels in your area, by clicking the following link: http://www.dwipanel.org
What is ignition interlock and how much does it
An ignition interlock device (IID) is a breath screening device that is
wired into your vehicle that prevents it from starting if it detects blood
alcohol. The device has a pre-set limit.
I am not an alcoholic, will I still have to do
Treatment ranges from an 8-hour class (ADIS) to two years of treatment.
I am an alcoholic, how much treatment will I have to
Two years, if a certified treatment agency determines that you are
What about a deferred prosecution?
A deferred prosecution is an intensive five (5) year program, while not
easy, does offer you benefits. If, after consultation, you decide to avoid
trial, and admit that you have an alcohol, drug or mental health problem,
you can ask the court to defer, place the charge on a "time-out",
for a period of five years. After five years, if you successfully complete
the program, and you have no further violations, and you follow the courts
requirements, the DUI will be dismissed.
Contact me at (425) 422-5818 if you have questions about a
deferred. This is not an option that should be taken lightly.
[more WA DUI FAQs
- license issues]
Please call me for your free consultation to discuss any of these
questions and how they may apply in your case, or if you have additional
questions that I haven't covered.
You Have Been Arrested For DUI in Washington State. Now What?
I will fight to save your Washington State license and freedom!
FREE WA DUI - DWI CASE CONSULTATION
WA DUI DWI Defense offered in: Seattle, Lynnwood, Everett, Mill Creek, Puget Sound, King County, Snohomish County
Free Case Consultation | View Our Informational Video | Case Studies
Client Testimonials | Attorney Information | FAQs | Blog | Contact Us | Home | Site Map
Copyright © Mark W. Garka, PLLC
Site Designed by Ecombuffet LLC