The Washington State DUI Legal Process - Everything You
Need To Know About A WA DUI
FREE WA DUI - DWI CASE CONSULTATION
WA DUI DWI Defense offered in: Seattle, Lynnwood, Everett, Mill Creek, Puget Sound, King County, Snohomish County
The following steps are typical in a Washington State DUI / Drunk Driving case,
according to the laws of Washington State.
For help with your exact specific situation, please call me or contact me for
your free DUI consultation at
After interviewing three different attorneys I chose Mark Garka. He struck me as knowledgeable, charismatic and trustworthy - a
combination of traits that I did not sense with the other attorneys I interviewed.
Given the circumstances of my arrest, I was very surprised andimpressed when Mark informed me of the Prosecuting Attorney's
recommendation for my sentencing. Even the judge said "It looks likeyour attorney has worked out a very good deal for you".
In the end, my charge was reduced to something much less detrimental than a DUI.
Thank you Mark Garka,
C. B. - Lynwood
- Administrative Department of Licensing Hearing:
To preserve your right to drive in Washington State, you must
request a hearing within 30 days after your license has been taken from you
by an officer or within the time set by the Department of Licensing in a
revocation letter. A hearing must be initially scheduled within 60 days of
your arrest for DUI.
If you had a valid license when stopped, you are free to
drive until the hearing. You will be mailed a notice of the hearing about
three weeks after your request. You can plan on at least 60 days of driving.
If you lose at the hearing, you can not drive after the
This is the date on your ticket, typically the next business day after
your arrest. It is Mandatory that you appear in court. The first
appearance, the arraignment, is primarily for advisement of rights under
Washington State DUI laws, and
your opportunity to declare "not guilty." If you have an attorney, he
will advise you of the proper procedures.
Also see my Arraignment Frequently
- Pre-trial Conference:
Your attorney will discuss your case with the Washington State District Attorney and negotiate the best possible plea bargain. It will
happen about 6 weeks after arraignment. This
is usually after the Motor Vehicle Hearing. The date is set by the
Court and your attorney on his calendar.
- Suppression Hearing:
The Court may suppress some or all of the
evidence against you if your constitutional rights have been violated.
Your attorney will file motions to suppress. It occurs anywhere 6 weeks to 3 months
after the pre-trial conference.
Almost always a trial to a jury of six. Trial must be held
within three months after your plea. See my Trial FAQ.
The Court imposes a sentence after a conviction at
trial or after a plea bargain is accepted and a plea entered. In Washington State, sentences may include jail time, in home detention, public service, alcohol classes and fines. Sentences are based on your history, the BAC information or your refusal to give a BAC. Feel free to contact me at (425) 422-5818 or e-mail me to discuss the possible mandatory sentence in your
Washington State DUI laws can be confusing. For more specific questions about your particular
WA DUI/ drunk driving case, please call me for a
Free Case Consultation | View Our Informational Video | Case Studies
Client Testimonials | Attorney Information | FAQs | Blog | Contact Us | Home | Site Map
Copyright © Mark W. Garka, PLLC
Site Designed by Ecombuffet LLC